Need To Stop

My continuing need to seek out new reads is really becoming a bit of a problem. Is it me, or maybe a touch of Spring Fever that has me searching for books even though I have plenty to read? Also, what is up with me and dark covers lately? I consider myself quite happy so why am I infatuated with dark, mysterious covers? These are the questions I ponder.

Okay, maybe it’s because talking about books is better than working on a project at work. You think?

Anyway, I was checking out Powell’s new favorites list and saw My Abandonment by Peter Rock. Here’s the blurb:

“A riveting and unsettling novel about a girl and her father who live off the grid, in the shadows at the edge of civilization. A thirteen-year-old girl and her father live in Forest Park, the enormous nature preserve in Portland, Oregon. They inhabit an elaborate cave shelter, wash in a nearby creek, store perishables at the water’s edge, use a makeshift septic system, tend a garden, even keep a library of sorts.

Once a week, they go to the city to buy groceries, attend church, and otherwise merge with the civilized world. But one small mistake allows a back country jogger to discover them, which derails their entire existence, ultimately provoking a deeper flight.

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer’s Into the Wild and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Last American Man, Peter Rock’s My Abandonment, inspired by a true story and told through the startlingly sincere voice of his young protagonist, Caroline, is an eerie and mesmerizing book of survival and hope, and a completely original novel of a remarkable and triumphant transformation.”

So what do you think? Doesn’t this sound good? Apparently it just came out last week. I think I am going to have to pick this one up.

6 thoughts on “Need To Stop”

  1. I saw this book a few months back and thought it sounded great! I have a huge stack of unread books at home and I’m still bringing more home!!!! I can’t help myself

  2. You are drawn to those dark covers lately! It’s funny how certain ones catch your eye at different times. I think it sounds like a great book. Between thrift stores and used book stores last weekend I came home with 6 more books…so I’m not any better!

  3. I hear you about seeking new reads when you have a stack of books. After telling myself I was going to read several of them before checking out anything from the library, I went BACK to the library and got three books yesterday. And I ordered two more books last weekend from BN.com. And now you may have added another book to my wishlist. Sigh. 🙂 I guess there are worse addictions to have!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s