If you love lists like I do…

2011 Indie Lit Awards

…then you won’t mind another! The short list for the 2011 Indie Lit Awards is up! I am very excited about it and can’t wait to see which ones will come out on top. Our panel members have quite the challenge ahead of them but as much work as it is, I quite enjoyed myself last year.

2011 Indie Lit Awards (Short List)

Biography/ Memoir

  • Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua (Penguin)
  • Bossypants by Tina Fey (Reagan Arthur Books)
  • I Pray Hardest When Being Shot At by Kyle Garret (Hellgate Press)
  • Little Princes by Conor Grennan (William Morrow)
  • Tolstoy and the Purple Chair by Nina Sankovitch (Harper)

GLBTQ

  • Well With My Soul by Gregory Allen (ASD Publishing)
  • Swimming to Chicago by David Matthew Barnes (Bold Strokes Books)
  • Songs of the New Depression by Kergan Edwards-Stout (Circumspect Press)
  • Nina Here Nor There: My Journey Beyond Gender by Nick Krieger (Beacon Press)
  • Huntress by Melinda Lo (little brown books for young readers)

Fiction

  • Dance Lessons by Aine Greaney (Syracuse University Press)
  • Cross Currents by John Shors (Penguin Group: NAL Trade)
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (Knopf/Doubleday Publishing Group)
  • Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones (Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill)
  • The Last Time I Saw Paris by Lynn Sheene (Penguin Group)

Mystery

  • Missing Daughter, Shattered Family by Liz Strange (MLR Press)
  • The Cut by George Pelecanos (Reagan Arthur/LIttle, Brown)
  • A Trick of the Light by Louise Penny (St. Martin’s Press)
  • The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes by Marcus Sakey (Dutton)
  • Fun & Games by Duane Swierczynski (Mulholland Books/Little, Brown)

Non-Fiction

  • Berlin 1961 by Frederick Kempe (Putnam Adult)
  • In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson (Crown)
  • Lost in Shangri-La by Mitchell Zuckoff (Harper)
  • Physics of the Future by Michio Kaku (Doubleday)
  • The Social Animal by David Brooks (Random House)

Poetry

  • Beyond Scent of Sorrow by Sweta Vikram (Modern History Press)
  • Catalina by Laurie Soriano  (Lummox Press)
  • What Looks Like an Elephant by Edward Nudelman  (Lummox Press)
  • Three Women: A Poetic Triptych and Selected Poems by Ramos, Emma Eden  (Heavy Hands Ink)
  • Sonics in Warholia by Megan Volpert (Sibling Rivalry Press)

Speculative Fiction

  • A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (Candlewick)
  • The Magician King by Lev Grossman (Viking)
  • 11/22/1963 by Stephen King (Scribner)
  • Among Others by Jo Walton (Tor Books)
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (Crown)

We expect to announce the winners in mid-March. If you’d like more info on the awards, check out the web page.

About these ads

12 Responses

  1. It looks like a great list! I’ll be watching to see which books win.

  2. I’ve only read (4) from the entire list, but do own a few others. Nice to see John Shor’s, Cross Currents on the list — one I still have not gotten a chance to read.

  3. Love lists and my fave category above is speculative fiction…speculatively speaking.

  4. Thanks for the list – and, by the way, love your 100 things about me list. I have started one – it’s hard to do, but so much fun.

  5. Lots of good titles on here…the only one that surprises me is Bossypants :p I didn’t care for that one as much as everybody else seems to.

  6. I’m embarrassed to say I’ve only read a few on this list, but I liked them all: Bossypants; Little Princes; Lost in Shangri-La; and Ready Player One

  7. I love lists and this one has so many great titles on it!

  8. I do love lists! I want to read several on the fiction and memoir sections.
    *smiles*

  9. I’ve read a few from each list … cool. I’m rooting for Ready Player One just for kicks!

  10. Most of the books on these lists make me very excited! I haven’t rad many of them. Sometimes I feel like I have no idea what I read since I’m always coming across books I’ve never read! lol (this probably doesn’t make much sense to anyone but me!)

    Happy Reading!

  11. I’m excited to see what the panelists think of the poetry titles and to see who the other winners will be

  12. What an amazing list! I’m completely blown away that my little book made it on the Memoir/Biography list. And I’m thrilled to find more great books to read!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 493 other followers

%d bloggers like this: